Organizing Committee

The organizing committee is made up of members of the Ministry of Cultures and Vice-Ministry of Tourism of Bolivia, members of the Autonomous Government of Beni, the Autonomous University of Beni “José Ballivian”, the Institute of Anthropological and Archaeological Research at Universidad Mayor de San Andrés, and the German Institute of Archaeology.

The committee is chaired by Dr. Carla Jaimes Betancourt (Department of Anthropology of the Americas, University of Bonn).

Scientific Committee

Dr. Edithe PEREIRA (Museu Paraense Emílio Goeldi, Belém, Brazil), President I EIAA
Dr. Eduardo Góes NEVES (University of São Paulo, Brazil), President II EIAA
Dr. Stéphen ROSTAIN (CNRS, France), President III EIAA
Dr. Heiko PRÜMERS (German Archaeological Institute (DAI), Bonn, Germany)
Dr. Cristiana BARRETO (Museu Paraense Emílio Goeldi, Belém, Brazil)
Dr. Gustavo POLITIS (Universidad Nacional de la Plata, Argentina)
Dr. José OLIVER (UCL Institute of Archaeology, United Kingdom)
Dr. Manuel ARROYO-KALIM (UCL Institute of Archaeology, United Kingdom)


The IV International Meeting of Amazonian Archeology will be held from October 1st to 7th, 2017.


The EIAA will be held in the Convention Center of the city of Trinidad, capital of the Department of the Beni, Bolivia. The newly built Center is a fully equipped conference venue that accommodates up to 300 people. As the official co-organizer the Autonomous Government of Beni will provide two exhibition halls next to the conference room for posters. Holding the conference in Trinidad is a unique opportunity to promote the endangered archaeological importance of the Llanos de Moxos at local, national, and international levels.

Official Languages

Due to the international character of the event, the EIAA will have three official languages: Spanish, Portuguese and English. A specialized translation service will be available.